1977 and 1980: The Red Riding Quartet Books 2 and 3, by David Peace

Categorized in:

Terrific continuation of the North of England crime series focusing on the Yorkshire Ripper. The patterns of the plots and characters here are similar in both books, and similar to 1974, but Peace seems to be making a comment on restrictive social structures and eternal recurrence. Ugly, unpleasant stuff, but excellent books.

Buy 1977 at Powell’s

Buy 1980 at Powell’s

Books: 31-32/52

Comments are closed here.